Match Reports‎ > ‎

JHC FT Score: Burren R­­­angers 2-12 St Patricks 0-15

posted 15 Jun 2015, 02:32 by PRO St Pats,Tullow,Carlow

This second round of the league stage of the Junior Hurling Championship took place at Kilbride pitch on Friday 12th June with Pat Keogh taking charge the game. (Pats received a w/o from Pal last week in the first round). St Pats trailed by a point at half time on a scoreline of 1-6 to 8pts, with 5 points from John Metcalfe, 2 from Paul Shepard and a neat score from Willie O’Brien.

Burren Rangers got a scrappy goal in the second half, finished by Michael Barcoe, and this was ultimately the difference with St Pats unable to break down a determined and well organised Burren Rangers unit. This is the first year Burren Rangers have an adult team and it can only enhance the small ball game in the East of Carlow. The team was powered on by centre back Jarlath Bolger and had a mixture of scorers.

For our own St Pats hurlers, we will need to improve if we are to put up a challenge for the Junior Title of 2015. There was a clear lack of aggression and ball skills from our team tonight. The team gave away far too many scoreable frees and will need to make a big effort over the coming weeks. Team manager Jim Shepard gave the players a few words of encouragement after the game and we look forward to seeing an improvement in the next championship outing at the start of July. Best for St Pats were Eoin O’Toole, Metcalfe, Shepard and Dave Brady. While for the home side Jarlath Bolger, Michael Baroe and Jack Ryan excelled.

Pats Team: Joe Byrne, Dave Brady, Eoin O’Toole, Ryan O’Neill, Sean Smith, Shane Farrell, Jamie Ansboro, John Metcalfe(0-9), Denis Kelly, Gerry Dooley, Willie O’Brien(0-1), Paul Shepard(0-4), Padraig Murphy (0-1), Ruan Caffery, John O’Brien.

Pats subs used; Richie O’Leary, Michael Smith, Thomas Smith.

Burren Rangers Team: Edward Townsend, John Gittens, Brendan Doyle, Jack Dunphy, Daniel O’Connor, Jarlath Bolger(0-4), Joseph Holden, Andrew Tobin, Conor Quinn, Jack Ryan(0-2), Michael Barcoe(1-3), Seamus English-Hayden(0-1), William Fanning(1-1), John O’Neill(0-1), Jamie Thorpe.