Match Reports‎ > ‎

JHC Round 5 St Patricks 1-10 Myshall 4-13

posted 18 Aug 2015, 02:15 by PRO St Pats,Tullow,Carlow
This fifth round of the league stage of the Junior Hurling Championship took place at Bro. Leo Park on Saturday 15th August. John Metcalfe was presented with his club player of the year trophy from 2014 before the game, and there is a strong chance he will get it again in 2015!
St Pats took about ten minutes to get going in the game but it was an even contest in the first half after that. John Metcalfe scored 5 frees in the half as the Myshall lads kept fouling Tullow going through. Padraig Murphy was taken down a few times as was Robbie Rooney and John O’Brien. The accurate Metcalfe slotted over the resulting frees from all angles. Meanwhile Anthony Hogan and Alan Hosey raised a green flag for the visitors to give them a lead of 2-7 to 0-6 in the first half.
The Tullow side came out fighting in the second half and when John O’Brien found the back of the net in style for Pats the score stood at 1-8 to 2-8 and the Tullow lads were right in it. Hosey popped over another for the visitors and Pats didn’t get the gap back again.
Denis Kelly had a fine game at wing back, the Rathvilly man was tigerish throughout. Murphy and Metcalfe did well at midfield while John O’Brien battled hard all the way through. Joe Byrne’s puck outs were good and the full back line did well, being under serious pressure, Robbie Foley being the main target main for Myshall and causing problems and bagging himself 1-3. The lack of firepower up front coupled with a few costly mistakes cost Pats here but they will not fear Myshall should they face them again in the knockout stages. Pats were missing a few but the return to the field of Brian Condon and Sham Comerford will be an addition going forward. Overall it was a hearty performance and with some more preparation there is a good chance in the semi finals, due to be played soon.
Pats Team: Joe Byrne, Dave Brady, Paul Rooney , Ryan O’Neill, Denis Kelly, Brian Condon, Gerry Dooley, John Metcalfe(0-9), Padraig Murphy, Robbie Rooney, Paul Sheppard(0-1), John O’Brien(1-0), Darren O’Toole, Sham Comerford, Nathan McDonald.
Pats subs used; Richie O’Leary.